social distancing

I’m living in a 2-dimensional world.

The keys clack gently and I respond to another thread.

Thread.

What’s the plan for Inquiry next week?

Thread.

Can you respond to that parent email?

Thread.

We need to strategize to streamline our communication.

All consciousness, all ideas, all trapped in a 13-inch screen. Unraveling, before me.

And I realize before too long that I’m not feeling so hot.

Threadbare.

Don’t worry friends, it’s not COVID. There’s just no pep in my step.

Week 7 of Distance Learning on Monday. The novelty is gone and the ups and downs of this wave take their toll. Three weeks ago the promise of kids, in class, together at last.

But now as the first cases have been identified here, DL continues, and the school, and the world, have withdrawn.

Streets, always bustling, lay dormant.

People draw in.

Of course, in a city of 9 million, there will still be people about. And in a city of 9 million, for the overwhelming majority, life goes on.

I’m craving people, real people. Real life. Not the kind trapped behind this screen.

So I close it.

Stand up.

Open the door, and step outside.

With one breath and three steps, the gentle breeze teasing the tree above me, the neighbor’s dog growling his usual gentle hello, and the children passing on bikes reassure me.

I’m living in a 3-dimensional world.

Published by Radutti

Teaching in Ha Noi, screwing things up daily but surviving to write about it. ...everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

  1. I think we can all concur. I’ve been setting responses for my students that involve building things and stepping away from the computer – my word, we will need a tech detox after this. I set up for about 5 hours this morning at Ta Ca Phi cafe – it was the perfect soulful spot to spend hours providing feedback. Highly recommended.

    Like

Leave a comment