buzzard

The echo catches me as I approach the lake

At first, I’m not sure where it’s coming from or what it might be.

A massive hive of ornery bees

A power drill prepped for duty

A downed power line

A drone, preparing to buzz the tower

All seem unrealistic, or at least misguided

When I round the bend and the buzz assaults my ears, this time up close.

I see a small group of spectators leaning against the rail, looking down at the water. I follow their gaze, and finally spot the source.

It’s a toy.

Specifically, a toy boat. running at the speed of sound. Unleashing a wake five times its size. Blowing by the hushed watchers, it spins, dips, dives along the calm waters of Tay Ho. Putting on a show, and making a fuss, on a day when surely any distraction is welcomed.

The lake is quiet today, few people are about

But because this is Hanoi, there’s still a buzz.

Published by Radutti

Teaching in Ha Noi, screwing things up daily but surviving to write about it. ...everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?

Join the Conversation

6 Comments

  1. I love the descriptive words you used. My favorite line is “…it spins, dips, dives along the calm waters of Tay Ho. ” It was easy for me to picture the scene in my head. Nice! ~JudyK

    Like

  2. What a beautiful poem full of sensory details. Our students worked on a project with their music teacher where they created sounds using instruments or their voice for brief silent nature scenes: A Foley project. I’m now more aware than ever of how sounds magnify a specific emotion or mood in a movie. This project also invited me to be a closer listener when outside. I appreciate this image captured in poetry.

    Like

Leave a comment