Ngo 38.2

I am a salmon

Making my way upstream, doing my best to avoid random grizzlies

With one key difference.

A salmon heading to spawn is all purpose and faith. These resolute fish are steadfast, spurred on by instinct, assured by ancestral wiring that they will reach their goal.

Procreation is a powerful motivator.

As for me, I’m a minnow. I have purpose – get the bike running – but lack confidence on my way up the river.

can I really trust this map

I have no idea where I’m going

I’ve left the friendly cartographers, their hand-scrawled map in hand, and have made the questionable decision to push and walk alongside the bike against the flow of traffic.

If I’m turning left up ahead this is definitely the right decision

right?

The swarming, endless headlights continue their assault, nearly blinding me as I stride awkwardly beside the bike, trying to avoid collision. I trust in the map, channel my inner sockeye, and continue onward.

That’s when, from nowhere, the small yet sturdy woman emerges. Grey coveralls and soft-brimmed hat, bandana trailing out her back pocket. Urging her double-wide garbage cart along the same side of the street as me. She is unbowed, indifferent even, to the oncoming flow. She powers forth, her sense of purpose leading her on.

She has work to do. And she is confident.

I keep pace, grateful for her shield, comforted in the notion that this tiny robust woman knows the way.

I pick up my pace to match hers. Our steady shared rhythm bolsters my mood.

Now I have someone to swim with.

Published by Radutti

Teaching in Ha Noi, screwing things up daily but surviving to write about it. ...everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

  1. There’s so much to love about this poem. The situation of biking in traffic is one that bikers like me can easily relate to. You’re right. Trying to bike with so many other cars around can feel like you’re in some kind of nature documentary. So the narration is one thing, and then you get to your inner thoughts. THAT’s when your words move into the universal. You bring us lines like “can i really trust this map” and “this is definitely the right decision // right?” And those lines, they are signals and reminders that this is not just a poem about riding a bicycle. Thank you for this powerful slice today!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the thoughtful feedback! You’ve given me plenty to consider – it’s a continuation of yesterday’s slice, I’ve had this story to tell for a while but the Challenge is giving it life and it feels like it’s worthy of a couple installments. Hoping to get to the conclusion tomorrow, and aiming to find the bigger thread that ties it all together somehow…there’s something in here about goodness and kindness that I’m ruminating on. 😉

      Like

  2. This is such a beautiful tribute to the many women who pull those huge, ungainly carts. I loved your use of the metaphor of swimming upstream… and I am looking forward to the third instillment. Yay to the challenge for bringing your story and experience to life…

    Like

Leave a comment