Garbage Day

Why in anyone’s right mind would someone choose to get up at this hour?

The dream is a bad one. 

Mercifully, the relentless hammering of my alarm interrupts its flow, demanding and redirecting my focus, draining the Sandman of power

I can’t quite put my finger on what the dream was about.

Weird

I almost always remember 

It was something about lack of control

And it was uncomfortable 

But that’s all I’ve got.

I roll my body over, heavy and numb with sinuses and chesty fatigue, and fumble to off the buzzing bee

Swing my legs over the side of the bed and stagger downstairs

What in the world are people who get up this early thinking?

I mumble and mutter through the matte black ground floor, and as if by Braille locate the slatted door switch

Hope this doesn’t wake anyone

The accordion door slowly, noisily retracts into the ceiling and I’m struck by the engineering marvel of it all.

I unlock and open the inner door, expecting a blast of too cold, too early, much too bitter air.

But instead, I’m comforted by a light caress, unexpected freshness.

I slide open our gate and leave the wet bag of trash just outside, ready for pickup, possibly by rats but hopefully by our dog walking friend, doing us a favor in these quarantine times.

Hope he gets here soon

And in that moment,

I pause 

To remember what it’s like to be outside. 

In the distance, a rooster crows, a dog barks.

But here, on this street, at this moment, 

There is nothing

A moment of clarity, 

of peace

And I know I’ve just answered my question.

Published by Radutti

Teaching in Ha Noi, screwing things up daily but surviving to write about it. ...everything's perfectly all right now. We're fine. We're all fine here now, thank you. How are you?

Join the Conversation

11 Comments

  1. All the sensory details carry us through this small morning moment; mental disorientation left from the dream, heavy body, full sinuses, feeling the door… until my favorite part, the surprise of a ‘light caress, unexpected freshness.’ I often feel this way as i venture out in bare feet and bathrobe to get my morning paper.
    I am recommending your site to writing friends, I enjoy your work very much. So glad to see you continuing here this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. I am so glad that I stumbled across your slice. This line:
    “I mumble and mutter through the matte black ground floor, and as if by Braille locate the slatted door switch” and your spacing, use of punctuation…I have so many questions, and admire this writing so much.

    Like

Leave a comment